Connect with Other Small Cities in Your Area

Register for a Small Cities Meeting

Small Cities Program

Cities in Oregon range in size from a population of two to over 600,000, with small cities comprising more than 70% of all Oregon cities.

Beginning in the early 2000s, the LOC’s Small Cities program was created to provide city officials from cities with a population under 5,000 the opportunity to meet, network, and discuss issues or solutions that were most relevant to small cities in their regions. Over time, the program has evolved to include a structured agenda and representatives from partner organizations in addition to the lunchtime conversation.

Today’s Small Cities program encourages elected and appointed officials from cities with populations of 7,500 or less to attend quarterly meetings in their region. The meeting location rotates each quarter to different cities who host the meeting.

Each meeting is scheduled for two hours and includes a presentation, lunch and a roundtable discussion. The last thing on every agenda is to discuss and identify a topic for the next meeting. Recent topics include legislative updates, tours of local facilities, funding opportunities, youth advisory councils, and more.

While the meetings are intended for small cities, all city officials are welcome to attend. In addition, guests from state agencies, regional and county governments, non-profits and consultancy firms are also welcome. We ask that these individuals do not participate in the roundtable discussion or in the selection of topics for future meetings.

View Upcoming Small Cities Meetings

Small City Regions

The state is divided into 12 regions designed to minimize driving distances for cities within the regions as much as possible. Each city is assigned to a region, but we encourage you to attend meetings in any region. While the meeting location rotates each quarter from city to city, the meeting itself is always scheduled for the same day and time.

North Coast (Region 1)

  • Friday, February 4, 2022
  • Friday, May 6, 2022
  • Friday, August 5, 2022
  • Friday, November 4, 2022

Portland Metro (Region 2)

  • Wednesday, March 23, 2022
  • Wednesday, June 22, 2022
  • Wednesday, September 14, 2022
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022

North Willamette Valley (Region 3)

  • Thursday, February 10, 2022
  • Thursday, May 12, 2022
  • Thursday, August 4, 2022
  • Thursday, November 10, 2022

South Willamette Valley (Region 4)

  • Friday, February 11, 2022
  • Friday, May 13, 2022
  • Friday, August 19, 2022
  • Friday, November 18, 2022

Central Coast (Region 5)

  • Wednesday, February 16, 2022
  • Wednesday, May 18, 2022
  • Wednesday, August 17, 2022
  • Wednesday, November 16, 2022

South Coast (Region 6)

  • Thursday, February 17, 2022
  • Thursday, May 19, 2022
  • Thursday, August 18, 2022
  • Thursday, November 17, 2022

Southern Valley (Region 7)

  • Thursday, March 10, 2022
  • Thursday, June 9, 2022
  • Thursday, September 8, 2022
  • Thursday, December 8, 2022

Columbia Gorge (Region 8)

  • Thursday, March 24, 2022
  • Thursday, June 23, 2022
  • Thursday, September 15, 2022
  • Thursday, December 15, 2022

Central Oregon (Region 9)

  • Friday, March 25, 2022
  • Friday, June 24, 2022
  • Friday, September 16, 2022
  • Friday, December 16, 2022

South Central Oregon (Region 10)

  • Friday, March 11, 2022
  • Friday, June 10, 2022
  • Friday, September 9, 2022
  • Friday, December 2, 2022

Northeast Oregon (Region 11)

  • Wednesday, January 19, 2022
  • Wednesday, April 13, 2022
  • Wednesday, July 13, 2022
  • Wednesday, October 19, 2022

Eastern Oregon (Region 12)

  • Thursday, January 20, 2022
  • Thursday, April 14, 2022
  • Thursday, July 14, 2022
  • Thursday, October 20, 2022

 

Program Evaluation

During the first quarter of 2019, LOC staff asked participants to share feedback on the program. While staff has not finished analyzing the data, overwhelming support for the program was provided. Staff will continue to analyze the data and plans to have a written update available later this year.

Small City Resources

Frequently Asked Questions

Do the Meetings Cost Money to Attend?
No! These meetings are free of cost. We do, however, ask that you register so we know how many people to expect for lunch.

How Formal are the Meetings?
The meetings are typically structured but informal, and attendees choose to wear casual attire. As many of the meetings feature an invited speaker, we do ask that you plan to arrive on time as much as possible so as not to interrupt the program.

I’d like to Host a Meeting in My City - What Should I Do?
Hosts are typically determined in person at each meeting – sometimes for multiple meetings in advance – so please feel free to volunteer yourself then. If you are unable to make a meeting, but would still like to volunteer, please contact LOC staff.

What are Host Cities Responsible For?
Host cities are responsible for providing meeting space (typically a room that can fit 20 – 25 people in classroom seating) and lunch for the group. Lunch can be catered in by a local restaurant, picked up at a local grocery store, or prepared by city officials. At this time, we are unable to  accommodate special dietary needs for each meeting.