Award for Excellence

The League’s Award for Excellence recognizes cities that have undertaken progressive and innovative approaches to city operations and providing services to their citizens.

Who is Eligible?

Cities of all sizes are encouraged to participate.  Entries must include programs or activities that have been successfully operating for at least the past year or have culminated in the past year.  A city may submit only one entry each year, but may re-submit a past entry that was not chosen for an award.  All cities entering this competition will be encouraged to “show off” their project with a table-top display during the LOC Annual Conference.

Review/Selection Process

Each year a selection committee is appointed to judge the entries, comprised of past LOC presidents, state legislators, media and higher education representatives, and others.  In evaluating the entries, the judges will consider whether the program:

1) Improves the community’s quality of life;
2) Enhances municipal services;
3) Includes collaboration with other governments, private interests, etc.;
4) Is replicable by other cities; and
5) Creates efficiencies.

Winners will receive:

  • Recognition during the LOC Annual Conference;
  • A framed certificate; and
  • A spotlight in the Local Focus magazine following the conference.

You might consider addressing the following questions in your description:

  • Why was the project needed?
  • What were its goals?
  • What steps were taken to complete the project?
  • What was unique or innovative about this project?
  • Did the project provide a new community service or improve an existing one?
  • How was the project funded?
  • Were there any problems or obstacles, and how were they overcome?
  • What members of the community or region were involved and how?
  • Did the project meet or exceed its goals?
  • What were the benefits (e.g., improved services, savings of time/money, etc.)?
  • Can other communities replicate the project?


Submissions must be received by September 13, 2021.

Entry form and submission instructions

View last year's Award for Excellence submissions