LOC Awards Program

Honoring excellence in local government

Nomination deadline extended!  The time has come to recognize great leaders and great projects in Oregon’s cities. LOC members are invited to nominate elected or appointed leaders who have made outstanding contributions to their city for one of the LOC’s prestigious awards. In addition, there are award categories for progressive and innovative city programs and projects.

The deadline to submit a nomination has been extended to Friday, September 8, 2023. 

Contact: Brie Ligammari, Conference Coordinator –

Exceptional Service Awards

Do you know of an individual who has made outstanding contributions to your community or to the state of Oregon? Recognize those efforts by nominating them for one of the LOC’s individual awards.

James C. Richards Memorial Award

This award recognizes exceptional contributions by elected city officials to the League of Oregon Cities and at the local, state and federal levels.
Learn more and view nomination form

Herman Kehrli Award

This award is granted to a city employee who has provided lasting benefits to their community through exceptional contributions to city government. 
Learn more and view nomination form

Mark O. Hatfield Statesmanship Award

A statesman is defined as “one who is versed in the art of government.”  This award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated similar statesmanship and exemplary service that has positively affected the citizens of Oregon.
Learn more and view nomination form

Civic Education Award

This award acknowledges individuals who have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to nurturing civic responsibility in youth. 
Learn more and view nomination form

City Awards

These awards recognize and encourage excellence, innovation, efficiency and great public service in city government. It’s an opportunity for your city to receive the recognition it deserves. Winners can use their success as a positive selling point for their communities and as a boost to the community’s spirit. The awards also serve as a forum for sharing the best public service practices in Oregon.

Award for Excellence

This award recognizes cities that have undertaken progressive and innovative approaches to city operations and providing services to their citizens.
Learn more and view entry form

Helen and Alan Berg Good Governance Award

This award recognizes programs, projects or events which have a specific purpose of reaching out to and/or educating citizens. 
Learn more and view entry form

2022 Award Winners

The 2022 Exceptional Service Awards and City Awards were presented during the 95th LOC Conference, recognizing outstanding city officials and community projects.

Watch the awards presentations